Setting up a local mirror?

Feb 28, 2012 at 10:13 PM

Hi, I'm new to nuget and trying to build up a system.

Nuget works, Nuget local server is also easy set up, thanks guys for this great piece of work :-)
I prefer your choice in not deleting any old packages as I won't include them in source control.
Bt nevertheless I want to have control on my own, so a own server is mandatory.

My prefered way would be like this:
1) Add your local nuget-server in VS, remove all other servers (also the main nuget)
2) If you search for packages your local server presents you the list of the real nuget-server where you may choose your packages)
3) If the package is already on your local server it will take it from there, if not it will download it (and all it's dependencies) first from nuget to local-server and then to your workstation.

So I would have a local mirror that is in my hands only mirroring things I've used in my projects.

Is this possible, or any other suggestions?

Thanks,

Cyber1000

Feb 28, 2012 at 10:24 PM

The package sources are queried in order. So, if you add a package source for your local server, and move it to the top of the list (above the default source), it will use packages from there first. You can also uncheck the default package source, but then you won't see it's packages, even when you search. Does that work for you?

Feb 29, 2012 at 8:16 PM

Hi thanks for the fast answer!

I think you didn't understand exactly what I tried to say, I saw I could move my local repo up and down the list giving it a priority.