Why does Get-Package return nothing?

Mar 18, 2012 at 7:09 AM

I'm new to NuGet. I have MS Visual Web Developer Express 2010

If I type: Get-Package -ListAvailable

nothing happens except that the new prompt is presented.

In the drop-down, I tried Source = "All", and "Official Package Source"

Mar 18, 2012 at 2:55 PM

Add a switch to list from a remote source '-remote'.

Get-package by default only returns items from locally installed packages.

'Get-help get-package' should list out all the options (fyi, I'm on my phone and I typically forget powershell as fast as I learn it, so the command is something to the effect of the above).

Mar 19, 2012 at 3:03 AM

thanks to the response above. i am new here and i have encountered the same problem. :)

Credit Report Dispute

Mar 19, 2012 at 12:07 PM

Hi fayebryant00,

Can you post your complete command line please.

I've tried several combinations of "-remote", and get errors each time.

BTW:  I can't see "-remote" in the help.

Thanks.

Mar 19, 2012 at 2:54 PM

@OldGrantonian: Ignore fayebryant00, it's a spammer.

What are the package sources that you have configured? If you specify -ListAvailable switch, that's enough. Open Fiddler and observe the outgoing traffic. See if any connection is made to nuget.org.

Mar 19, 2012 at 3:34 PM
dotnetjunky wrote:

@OldGrantonian: Ignore fayebryant00, it's a spammer.

What are the package sources that you have configured? If you specify -ListAvailable switch, that's enough. Open Fiddler and observe the outgoing traffic. See if any connection is made to nuget.org.

>>  it's a spammer

That proves how dumb I am :)

The other way to prove it is to say that I don't really understand anything in your sincerely motivated response :)

I assumed that NuGet was similar to the package manager in Ubuntu. Open it, and you see all the packages that have been approved as "safe" for Ubuntu users. A simple click means that it's installed autmatically. Removal is also a single click.