Not allowing deleting NuPack package source

Oct 20, 2010 at 11:21 PM

Right now, if you accidentally delete the NuPack package source in the Settings form, there is no way to get it back. Should we disallow deleting the NuPack source to avoid this situation?

Coordinator
Oct 20, 2010 at 11:23 PM

Could we simply disallow deleting the last one? We could provide an error message to say there must be at least one package source.

Oct 20, 2010 at 11:34 PM

But that still doesn't prevent user from deleting the offical NuPack source.

Coordinator
Oct 20, 2010 at 11:36 PM

Why's that a problem? They should be able to remove it. Maybe they are setting it up in a corp environment and only want to point to an internal feed. If they want it back, for v1, I think they'll have to find the URL. By the time we hit RTM, the URL will be easy to remember and well known. In v2, we can consider a "Reset Settings" type function.

Oct 20, 2010 at 11:51 PM

Agreed, it's not that hard to get it back if you need it.

Oct 21, 2010 at 12:15 AM

How do you get it back currently? I always have to go into the source code and copy it. Unless we put it online somewhere here.

Oct 21, 2010 at 12:19 AM
Reset to default settings FTW. :D
____
Rob
"Be passionate in all you do"

http://devlicio.us/blogs/rob_reynolds
http://ferventcoder.com
http://twitter.com/ferventcoder
Coordinator
Oct 21, 2010 at 5:17 AM
Well right now it's not easy, but it will be when we have the gallery. For now, we can post the feed URL on our project page if that helps.
>