Mercurial and CodePlex

Sep 1, 2010 at 3:10 PM

I have to say I've never used Mercurial on CodePlex before but I thought it would behave something like git on other systems. I created a fork originally and noticed it was updated but when I did a sync it didn't pull in the changes David had committed into my fork? I had to delete my old fork and create a new one. That doesn't seem right to me. Do I have the wrong interpretation of how this works? I'm using TortoiseHg if that makes any difference. Has anyone else who has a fork been able to sync down the changes from master since creating the fork?

Sep 1, 2010 at 3:28 PM
After you pulled did you update your working repository to the latest version? You need to issue an Update command to get the latest bits, even id you have pulled it.

Sent from my phone

On Sep 1, 2010, at 8:12 AM, "bsimser" <notifications@codeplex.com> wrote:

I have to say I've never used Mercurial on CodePlex before but I thought it would behave something like git on other systems. I created a fork originally and noticed it was updated but when I did a sync it didn't pull in the changes David had committed into my fork? I had to delete my old fork and create a new one. That doesn't seem right to me. Do I have the wrong interpretation of how this works? I'm using TortoiseHg if that makes any difference. Has anyone else who has a fork been able to sync down the changes from master since creating the fork?

Sep 1, 2010 at 3:31 PM

I did a sync and thought I did an update but there were no changes available (yet there were two new commits). I'll have to try it again once there's another commit.

Developer
Sep 1, 2010 at 3:39 PM

You need to pull from the main repository url not the fork i.e.:

hg pull https://hg01.codeplex.com/nupack
hg update

Sep 1, 2010 at 3:41 PM

Thanks. Only been working with git for a few months and hg for a few days. It shows.

Developer
Sep 1, 2010 at 4:11 PM

You'll love it :D

Sep 2, 2010 at 3:12 PM